LANSING, MI – Changes that standardize how a concealed pistol license (CPL) is issued or renewed in Michigan take on effect Dec. 1, 2015; however, applicants should experience little difference, as the application and renewal processes still start by visiting the county clerk’s office of the county in which the applicant resides.
Under the new law, it is the responsibility of the county clerk to issue a CPL to an applicant who is not statutorily disqualified to receive a CPL under the Firearms Act (1927 PA 372) within 45 days of when classifiable fingerprints are taken. The Michigan State Police will verify through the Law Enforcement Information Network and National Instant Criminal Background Check System that the applicant meets certain statutory requirements and will report all statutory disqualifications to the county clerk.
County concealed weapon licensing boards that previously performed this verification process will cease to exist, and official documents held by these boards will be transferred to the county clerk of the county in which the board was located. All pending applications remain in place, are considered to have a Dec. 1, 2015 application date and shall be processed by the county clerk as provided in law. Any valid CPL issued before Dec. 1, 2015, will continue to be in effect until the expiration of the CPL or as otherwise provided by law.
Other changes include an initial application and licensing fee of $100 and a renewal application and licensing fee of $115.
Individuals who wish to apply for a CPL may obtain a free concealed pistol application kit from the county clerk during normal business hours. Such kits include the application form and additional information regarding the procedures for obtaining a CPL.